Header Destination Haute Alsace
1 / 3
bandeau-balade-barque-petite-venise-colmar
2 / 3
bandeau-ancienne-douane-colmar
3 / 3
bandeau-marché-noel-colmar

Colmar

Home > The touristic places > The touristic places of Colmar

The touristic places of Colmar

Walk through the streets of Colmar to discover the buildings that have retained the typical features of Alsatian architecture. Colmar is part of the essential step in your Alsatian trip!

I book an accommodation

eglise-dominicain

The Dominican's church

The construction of the church began in 1283, ordered by the Dominicans. It was burned down in 1458, which reduced the roof and the cloister, which later required restoration work. For a very long time, the church was dedicated to secular purposes but in 1898 it became a place of worship.

Today, the place hosts temporary exhibitions including the one dedicated to the order of the Dominicans. While during the Christmas period, there is the exhibition "Exceptional Pieces" organized by the FREMA (Regional Federation of Artisans).

la-petite-venise

Little Venice

Little Venice, once inhabited by a community of winegrowers, market gardeners and boatmen, is located in the Krutenau district south of the historic center of Colmar. It begins behind Koïffhus, goes through the fish market and then to the bridges Turenne and Saint Pierre. The origin of his name comes from the original alignment of houses on both sides of the river as his counterpart in Venice, Italy.

musée-unterlinden

The Unterlinden museum

The Unterlinden Museum has been awarded the Musée de France label and has been managed by Schongauer for more than 150 years. It houses the notable work: the altarpiece of Issenheim. The collection of this museum is very rich since it consists of Rhenish art, decorative arts, Alsatian arts and traditions, archaeological collections etc

maison-pfister

The Pfister house

Built in 1537 for the hatter Ludwig Scherer, the house changes owners three times between 1790 and 1860. The name of the house is due to François Jean Pfister and François Joseph Pfister. In 1909, the new owners: the family Judin had it restored as it should be in the style of the Renaissance but with its medieval features. The House Pfister is part since 1927 historical monuments of France, this "certification" aims to protect historic buildings.

musée-hansi

The Hansi Museum

The museum is dedicated to the illustrator and caricaturist Hansi, it is divided into two floors including the ground floor which is a reconstructed village of the 20s. Paving the floor reproduce an Alsatian square typical of his years, animated all over. year-round by regional artists and artisans. Upstairs, it is possible to discover more than 700 personal objects and works of the artist.

maison-des-têtes

The house of the heads

The House of Heads holds the title of historical monument since December the 6, 1898. It is built in 1609 for the merchant Anton Burger, that Baudoin de Launoy acquired in 1698 and restored by Guillier in 1738. The building is Renaissance style of which The architect was named Hans Burger. The name of the monument owes to the 106 little human heads decorating the oriel and the mullions of the windows.

quai-poissonnerie

The quai de la Poissonnerie

The Pier de la Poissonnerie was the home of the city's professional fishermen, who formed a powerful corporation until the first half of the 20th century. In 1709, a fire ravaged the place with about fifty houses, barns and stables. The neighborhood will benefit from restoration work from 1978 to 1981.

musée-jouet

The toy museum

The museum houses toys from the nineteenth and twentieth century, it welcomes a wide audience in a fun and enchanting to discover the history of the toy. Georges Trincot and Pierre Patoor opened the museum in 1993 with the support of the city of Colmar. It will be possible to find the first Barbies, Playmobil, robots, small trains etc ... arranged on three levels.

ancienne-douane

Khufus or Old Customs

The Koïfhus is the oldest building of the local public whose construction was completed in 1480 and during the fifteenth century and nineteenth century, two buildings were added and were restored between 1895 and 1898. Today, the interior of the building, the facade and its roofs are listed in the classification of historical monuments. The Ancienne Douane was the administrative and economic headquarters of the city at the time when Colmar was making its own currency. On the ground floor was taxed goods imported and exported while on the floor met the deputies of the Decapolis and the Magistrate. But nowadays, the building is used for public events and activities.

musée-bartholdi

The Bartholdi Museum

The Bartholdi Museum is the birthplace of Auguste Bartholdi (1834-1904) where it will be possible to find his models of nine public monuments in Colmar, family furniture, personal souvenirs and American monuments that Bartholdi designed. A museum is dedicated to him because the artist is recognized throughout the world for his notable works: the Statue of Liberty and the Lion of Belfort.

Slider destinations

Discover other destinations

mulhouse

Mulhouse

The city of Mulhouse has long been a city in constant growth during the industrial revolution: the goods circulated, the work was abundant and the factories very numerous.

I travel
Colmar

Colmar

Walk through the streets of Colmar to discover the buildings that have retained the typical features of Alsatian architecture. Colmar is part of the essential step in your Alsatian trip!

I travel
Territoire-de-Belfort

The Territoire de Belfort

The Territoire de Belfort is unusual in many ways. Plunge into a territory of contrasts between Vosges and Jura, bordering with Alsace and Switzerland.

I travel
Eguisheim

Eguisheim

Say hello to the storks in Eguisheim, voted the favorite village of french people in 2013. It is also located on the wine route where you can admire many castles.

I travel
kaysersberg

Kaysersberg

Come to Kaysersberg, voted the favorite village of french people in 2017, to discover half-timbered houses, vineyards and Alsatian gastronomy.

I travel
Riquewihr

Riquewihr

Considered as a medieval city in the center of the Alsatian vineyard, the village will seduce you with its cultural heritage and authenticity found in its architecture and buildings well preserved.

I travel
hartmannswillerkopf

Hartmannswillerkopf

The monument is build to honor the memory of the battle of 1915. It consists of a crypt containing 12 000 unknown soldiers and weapons and equipment, guarded by two archangels sculpted by Antoine Bourdelle. Three chapels are devoted to Catholic, Protestant and Jewish cults, including a Virgin in the Catholic chapel.

I travel
Munster

Munster

When you hear Munster, you immediately think of cheese but it's also a city! If you came for cheese, "La Maison du Fromage" will answer all of your expectations. But that's not all, Munster is also known for being the center of the regional park of Ballons des Vosges, also known for its panoramic view.

I travel

Sainte-Marie-aux-Mines

The city of Sainte-Marie-aux-Mines is very popular for its silver mines accessible by the Tellure Mine Park. It is also possible to visit many museums, temples and churches.

I travel
le château du haut koenigsbourg

Le château du Haut-Koenigsbourg

Built in the 12th century, it is the center of many conflicts between lords, kings and emperors. We find a low court, spiral staircases, the furnished apartments of the lord and especially an atmosphere full of history.

I travel
le parc du petit prince

Le Parc du Petit Prince

The Petit Prince Park is the world's first "air" park, opened in 2014 and extend over 24 acre including 30 attractions and 2 large balloons up to 492,126 ft high. It is possible to have fun in one of the 22 attractions and participate in the entertainment open to young and old.

I travel
l'écomusée d'alsace

L'écomusée d'Alsace

The museum is an open-air museum, it is organized as an Alsatian village in the early twentieth century, it promotes rural heritage and promotes the Arts and Traditions popular Alsace. The heritage comes in several forms: housing, crafts, cooking, agriculture as well as landscapes, gardens and rivers.

I travel
sundgau

Le Sundgau

The Sundgau, South Alsace, paradise of the bike®, is a set of 9 courses is nearly 186,411 miles of marked discovery circuits allowing you, in all serenity, to travel in one of the most beautiful regions of Alsace, authentic, mysterious and unspoiled mass tourism.

I travel

Strasbourg

Strasbourg is a municipality of the department of Bas-Rhin in the region of Alsace. It welcomes many European institutions such as the Council of Europe and the European Parliament, which is why it is called the "European capital".

I travel

Le Mont Sainte-Odile

Mont Sainte-Odile is a Vosges mountain located in the Lower Rhine at Ottrott, rising to 2506,56 ft above sea level. The mountain allows to have a sight on the plain of Alsace but it is also a place of pilgrimage very frequented in particular the abbey of Hohenbourg that Sainte-Odile founded in 680.

I travel

The alsatian bestiary

Discover the Alsatian fauna in this bestiary. It brings together local popular species such as the stork or the big hamster of Alsace!

I travel
Document sans nom

Header Destination Haute Alsace
1 / 3
bandeau-balade-barque-petite-venise-colmar
2 / 3
bandeau-ancienne-douane-colmar
3 / 3
bandeau-marché-noel-colmar

Colmar

Accueil > Les sites touristiques > Les sites touristiques de Colmar

Les sites touristiques de Colmar

Promenez-vous dans les rues de Colmar afin de découvrir les bâtiments ayant conservés les traits typiques de l'architecture alsacienne. Colmar fait partie de l'étape incontournable dans votre voyage alsacien !

eglise-dominicain

L'église des Dominicains

La construction de l’église a débuté en 1283, ordonné par les Dominicains. Elle fut incendiée en 1458 ce qui abima la toiture et le cloître nécessitant par la suite de travaux de restauration. Pendant une très longue période, l’église était dédiée à des fins laïques mais en 1898, elle redevint un lieu de culte.

Aujourd’hui, le lieu accueille des expositions temporaires notamment celle dédiée l’ordre des Dominicains. Tandis que pendant la période de Noël, on retrouve l’exposition « Pièces d’exceptions » organisée par la FREMA (Fédération régionale des artisans d’art).

la-petite-venise

La Petite Venise

La Petite Venise, autrefois habitée par une communauté de vignerons, maraîchers et bateliers, se situe dans le quartier de la Krutenau au sud du centre historique de Colmar. Elle commence derrière le Koïffhus, passe par le quai de la poissonnerie puis jusqu’aux ponts Turenne et Saint Pierre. L’origine de son nom provient de l’alignement original des maisons de part et d’autre de la rivière comme son homologue à Venise en Italie.

musée-unterlinden

Le musée Unterlinden

Le Musée Unterlinden bénéficie du label Musée de France et est géré depuis plus de 150 ans par la société Schongauer. Il abrite l’œuvre notable : le retable d’Issenheim. La collection de ce musée est très fournie puisqu’elle se compose d’art rhénan, d’arts décoratifs, d’arts et traditions Alsaciennes, de collection archéologiques etc…

maison-pfister

La Maison Pfister

Bâtie en 1537 pour le chapelier Ludwig Scherer, la maison change trois fois de propriétaires entre 1790 et 1860. On doit le nom de la maison à François Jean Pfister et François Joseph Pfister. En 1909, les nouveaux propriétaires : la famille Judin la fit restaurer comme elle se doit dans le style de la Renaissance mais avec ses caractéristiques médiévales.La Maison Pfister fait partie depuis 1927 des monuments historiques de France, cette « certification » a pour but de protéger les bâtiments historiques.

musée-hansi

Le Musée Hansi

Le musée est dédié à l’illustrateur et caricaturiste Hansi, il est réparti en deux étages dont le rez-de-chaussée qui est un village reconstitué des années 20. Des pavés au sol reproduisent une place alsacienne typique de ses années, animée tout au long de l’année par des artistes et artisans régionaux. À l’étage, il est possible de découvrir plus de 700 objets personnels et œuvres de l’artiste.

maison-des-têtes

La Maison des Têtes

La Maison des Têtes détient le titre de monument historique depuis le 6 décembre 1898. Elle est construite en 1609 pour le marchand Anton burger, que Baudoin de Launoy acquis en 1698 et restaurer par Guillier en 1738. L’édifice est de style Renaissance dont l’architecte se nommait Hans Burger. Le nom du monument doit aux 106 petites têtes humaines qui décorent l’oriel et les meneaux des fenêtres.

quai-poissonnerie

Le quai de la Poissonnerie

Le quai de la Poissonnerie était le lieu d’habitation des pêcheurs professionnels de la ville qui formaient une puissante corporation jusqu’à la première moitié du XXe siècle. Or en 1709, un incendie ravagea l’endroit emportant une cinquantaine de maisons, de granges et d’écuries. Le quartier profitera de travaux de restauration de 1978 à 1981.

musée-jouet

Le musée du jouet

Le musée abrite des jouets du XIX et XXème siècle, il accueille un large public dans un cadre ludique et enchanteur afin de leur faire découvrir l’histoire du jouet. C’est Georges Trincot et Pierre Patoor qui ont ouvert le musée en 1993 avec le soutien de la ville de Colmar. Il sera possible de retrouver les premières Barbies, des Playmobil, des robots, des petits trains etc… disposés sur trois niveaux.

ancienne-douane

Le Khoïfhus ou Ancienne Douane

Le Koïfhus est le bâtiment le plus ancien du public local dont la construction s’est achevée en 1480 et au cours du XVe siècle et XIXe siècle, deux bâtiments se sont ajoutés et furent restaurés entre 1895 et 1898. De nos jours, l’intérieur de l’édifice, la façade et ses toitures sont inscrit dans le classement des monuments historiques. L’Ancienne Douane a été le siège administratif et économique de la ville, à l’époque ou Colmar fabriquait sa propre monnaie. Au rez-de-chaussée avait lieu la taxation des marchandises importées et exportées tandis qu’à l’étage se réunissait les députés de la Décapole ainsi que Le Magistrat. Mais de nos jours, le bâtiment sert aux manifestations et aux activités publiques.

musée-bartholdi

Le Musée Bartholdi

Le musée Bartholdi est la maison natale d’Auguste Bartholdi (1834-1904) où il sera possible de retrouver ses maquettes de neuf monuments publics de Colmar, des meubles de famille, des souvenirs personnels ainsi que des monuments américains que Bartholdi a conçus. Un musée lui est dédié car l’artiste est reconnu dans le monde entier pour ses œuvres notables : la Statue de la Liberté et le Lion de Belfort.

Header Destination Haute Alsace

Découvrez d'autres destinations

mulhouse

Mulhouse

La ville de Mulhouse a longtemps été une ville en croissance constante pendant la révolution industrielle : les marchandises circulaient, le travail était abondant et les usines étaient très nombreuses.

Je voyage
colmar

Colmar

Promenez-vous dans les rues de Colmar afin de découvrir les bâtiments ayant conservés les traits typiques de l'architecture alsacienne. Colmar fait partie de l'étape incontournable dans votre voyage alsacien !

Je voyage
territoire de belfort

Le Territoire de Belfort

Le Territoire de Belfort est insolite à bien des égards. Plongez dans un territoire de contrastes entre Vosges et Jura, limitrophe avec l’Alsace et la Suisse.

Je voyage
eguisheim

Eguisheim

Saluer les cigognes à Eguisheim, élu le village préféré des français en 2013. Il se situe également sur la route des Vins où vous pourrez admirer de nombreux châteaux forts.

Je voyage
kaysersberg

Kaysersberg

Venez vous aventurer à Kaysersberg, élu le village préféré des français en 2017, afin de découvrir les maisons en colombages, les vignobles et la gastronomie alsacienne.

Je voyage
riquewihr

Riquewihr

Considéré comme une cité médiévale au cœur du vignoble alsacien, le village saura vous séduire par son patrimoine culturel et son authenticité que l'on retrouve dans son architecture et ses édifices bien conservés.

Je voyage
hartmannswillerkopf

Hartmannswillerkopf

Le monument est érigé afin de mettre à l’honneur le souvenir des combats de 1915. Il est constitué d’une crypte renfermant 12 000 soldats inconnus ainsi que des armes et des équipements, gardé par deux archanges sculptés par Antoine Bourdelle. Trois chapelles sont vouées aux cultes catholique, protestant et juif, dont une Vierge dans la chapelle catholique.

Je voyage
munster

Munster

Quand on entend Munster, on pense tout de suite au fromage mais c'est également une ville ! Si vous êtes venus chercher le fromage, La Maison du Fromage saura répondre à vos attentes. Mais ce n'est pas tout, Munster est aussi connue pour être le cœur du parc naturel régional des Ballons des Vosges, aussi réputé pour sa vue panoramique.

Je voyage
sainte-marie-aux-mines

Sainte-Marie-aux-Mines

La ville de Sainte-Marie-aux-Mines est très populaire pour ses mines d'argent accessible par le parc minier de Tellure. Il est également possible d'y visiter de nombreux musées, temples et églises.

Je voyage
chateau-haut-koenigsbourg

Le château du Haut-Koenigsbourg

Erigé au 12e siècle, il est le cœur de nombreux conflits entre seigneurs, rois et empereurs. On retrouve une cour basse, des escaliers en colimaçon, les appartements meublés du seigneur et surtout une atmosphère pleine d’histoire.

Je voyage
écomusée d'alsace

L'écomusée d'Alsace

L’écomusée est un musée à ciel ouvert, il est organisé comme un village alsacien au début du XXe siècle, il fait vivre le patrimoine rural et fait la promotion des Arts et Traditions populaires d’Alsace. Le patrimoine se décline sous plusieurs formes : habitat, artisanat, cuisine, agriculture ainsi que des paysages, jardins et rivières.

Je voyage
sundgau

Le Sundgau

Le Sundgau, Sud Alsace, Paradis du vélo®, c’est un ensemble de 9 parcours soit près de 300 km de circuits découvertes balisés vous permettant, en toute sérénité, de parcourir l’une des plus belles régions d’Alsace, authentique, mystérieuse et préservée du tourisme de masse.

Je voyage
strasbourg

Strasbourg

Strasbourg est une commune du département du Bas-Rhin dans la région d'Alsace. Elle accueille de nombreuses institutions européennes comme le Conseil de l'Europe et le Parlement européen et c'est pour cela qu'elle se fait qualifier de « capitale européenne ».

Je voyage
mont-sainte-odile

Le Mont Sainte-Odile

Le Mont Sainte-Odile est un mont vosgien situé dans le Bas-Rhin à Ottrott, culminant à 764 mètres d’altitude. Le mont permet d’avoir une vue sur la plaine d’Alsace mais c’est aussi un lieu de pèlerinage très fréquenté notamment l’abbaye de Hohenbourg que Sainte-Odile a fondé en 680.

Je voyage
bestiaire-alsacien

Le bestiaire alsacien

Découvrez la faune alsacienne dans ce bestiaire. Il regroupe des animaux populaiers de la région comme la cigogne ou le grand hamster d'Alsace !

Je voyage
Document sans nom